Back to CDs

Origin of the Species: Revisited Vol. 1


The first volume of the Bellon Complete Edition series, recorded by The Wallace Collection, featuring 4 magnificent Quintettes by Jean-François Bellon (1795-1869).

In stock (can be backordered)


Originally recorded in 1999 and released in 2020, this album is the first volume of the Bellon Complete Edition recorded by The Wallace Collection, featuring 4 magnificent Quintettes by Jean-François Bellon (1795-1869).  Bringing to life the works of this significant early composer for brass, the recordings have been performed on authentic brass instruments from the period, using copies of the original parts held by the British Library.

This album Includes Bellon’s Quintettes nos. 1, 2, 3 and 12 (movements i-iii).


During the 1990s The Wallace Collection became more and more interested in performing nineteenth-century music on period brass.  At that time, there was very little known chamber music for brass from the nineteenth century. However, during a research visit to the British Library to find ophicleide repertory, Anthony George discovered all the pieces included on this album.

This album presents the first of three volumes which create the Bellon Complete Edition in our Origin of the Species Revisited series.  Volume 2 and Volume 3 are also available separately or as part of a limited edition, triple CD boxed set.


  • Quintette No. 1 in Eb major
    • Allegro
    • Minuetto
    • Andante cantabile
    • Allegretto
  • Quintette No. 2 in Bb major
    • Allegro risoluto
    • Minuetto
    • Andante cantabile
    • Allegro scherzando
  • Quintette No. 3 in G minor
    • Introduzione
    • Minuetto
    • Romance
    • Rondo
  • Quintette No. 12 in F minor
    • Moderato
    • Minuetto
    • Adagio ma sostenuto

Additional information

Weight 280 g

Jean-Francois Bellon


Brass Quintet


Compact Disc (CD)


The Wallace Collection brass ensemble

Re-Stock Timescale

2 weeks from point of re-stock order placed

You may also like…

The Origin Of The Species Boxed Set front artwork
Origin of the Species Revisited: Bellon Boxed Set
This limited edition, triple CD boxed set includes the full complement of Bellon’s Quintettes, recorded by The Wallace Collection, featuring all 12 of the magnificent Quintettes by Jean-François Bellon (1795-1869), including the ‘lost movement’ from Quintette No. 12.
£29.99 Add to cart