Back to CDs

Origin of the Species: Revisited Vol. 2


The second volume of the Bellon Complete Edition recorded by The Wallace Collection, featuring a further 4 magnificent Quintettes by Jean-François Bellon (1795-1869).

In stock (can be backordered)


This album is the second in The Wallace Collection Bellon Complete Edition series.  It was recorded in September/October 2020, in the Macpherson Recital Room at the Laidlaw Music Centre in the University of St Andrews. It continues The Wallace Collection ‘Origin of the Species’ series and is the middle release of the three volumes which present all of Bellon‘s quintets (now available as a three-disc boxed set)

The original Origin of the Species CD captured some of the repertory written for the Cyfarthfa Band founded in 1838 in Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, and is still produced under the Nimbus label over twenty-five years after its release (NI5470). The first CD in this collected edition of the complete Bellon quintets was recorded in 1999 and released in April 2020, whilst this second volume and the third volume, which completes the set, were recorded in 2020 and both were made available on public release in 2021.

This recording includes Bellon’s Quintettes 4, 5, 6 and 7.


  • Quintette No. 4 in D major
    • i. Introduzione
    • ii. Minuetto
    • iii. Andante
    • iv. Rondo
  • Quintette No. 5 in A minor
    • i. Allegro ma risoluto
    • ii. Minuetto
    • iii. Andante sostenuto
    • iv. Allegretto
  • Quintette No. 6 in D major
    • i. Allegro spiritoso
    • ii. Scherzo
    • iii. Andantino poco allegretto
    • iv. Rondo
  • Quintette No. 7 in F major
    • i. Adagio; Allegro ma leggiero
    • ii. Minuetto del diavolo
    • iii. Finale (Barcarolle) Une matinée à Naples, départ, chant des matelots

Additional information

Weight 280 g

Jean-Francois Bellon


Brass Quintet


Compact Disc (CD)


The Wallace Collection brass ensemble

Re-Stock Timescale

2 weeks from point of re-stock order placed

You may also like…

The Origin Of The Species Boxed Set front artwork
Origin of the Species Revisited: Bellon Boxed Set
This limited edition, triple CD boxed set includes the full complement of Bellon’s Quintettes, recorded by The Wallace Collection, featuring all 12 of the magnificent Quintettes by Jean-François Bellon (1795-1869), including the ‘lost movement’ from Quintette No. 12.
£29.99 Add to cart